What are you WAITing on?

So I got tired of hitting google and opening up that Word Doc from Microsoft (Performance Tuning and Waits). So I grabbed the table of waits from this word document and converted the table to a Tab Delimited Text file. From there I was able to import the data into a table in my DBA catch-all admin database. Then I created a little web front end to search for Waits. Now when I have a wait I can just hit my web page and do a quick search. I also created a little notes table so I can make notes and increase my skill and magic on troubleshooting waits.

Here is the waits.txt file that contains the tab-delimited data to import: waits.txt (had to give it a .doc extension so I could upload it to wordpress. Just change the extension back to .txt).

Here is my waits table:

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[sqlwaits](
[waitid] [int] IDENTITY(1,1) NOT NULL,
[waittype] [varchar](50) NULL,
[category] [varchar](50) NULL,
[intable] [varchar](10) NULL,
[description] [varchar](4000) NULL,
[correlation] [varchar](2000) NULL,
CONSTRAINT [PK_sqlwaits] PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED
(
[waitid] ASC
)WITH (PAD_INDEX  = OFF, STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE  = OFF, IGNORE_DUP_KEY = OFF, ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS  = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS  = ON) ON [PRIMARY]
) ON [PRIMARY]

And the notes table:

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[sqlwaits_notes](
[noteid] [int] IDENTITY(1,1) NOT NULL,
[waitid] [int] NULL,
[notebody] [varchar](2000) NULL,
CONSTRAINT [PK_sqlwaits_notes] PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED
(
[noteid] ASC
)WITH (PAD_INDEX  = OFF, STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE  = OFF, IGNORE_DUP_KEY = OFF, ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS  = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS  = ON) ON [PRIMARY]
) ON [PRIMARY]

Leave a Reply

